Mosaic: “No Country For Old Men” (2007)

The last movie I saw at the Colonial Village theaters in Rockford, Illinois, before the place got shut down in 2008.

I loved this flick, really loved it, until it became clear the resolution of Brolin’s character had occurred offscreen.

What a cheat, I thought. The audience spends all this time with the character, we’re emotionally hooked into his plight, can’t wait to see how it all plays out, and then…oh…it’s over. And we missed it. Yet the movie goes on.

It was only on repeat viewings– I remained so enthralled with the rest of the movie before that scene, I just couldn’t stay away– that I grew to appreciate the Coens’ decision to tell the story the way they did. Granted, I would have preferred to actually see the resolution and not just the aftermath, but…

The movie is what it is. Taken on its own terms, it’s brilliant. One of my favorite films of the ’00s, abrupt ending and all. Its positive qualities dwarf its negatives, of which there are few. One of the few motion pictures of the past 15 years or so which I have yet to tire of.

And I’m not even a Coen Brothers superfan. I just love this particular movie.474097_672035832812901_920685217_o

Leave a Reply

